Author Topic: Prep for Church  (Read 9538 times)

Offline Eupher

• U.S. Army, Retired
Prep for Church
« on: November 13, 2010, 01:31:09 PM »
I am the chairman of the Fellowship Committee, which is a euphemism for "he who gets to cook for us at church a lot and work his ass off in the process".

My tenure in this position is rapidly coming to a close, as I have been serving on Session (the church council) for almost 3 years - an entire term.

At any rate, I am tired and want to move on, but the last great major hurdle to leap over is the church Thanksgiving meal, which we're having tomorrow.

Mrs E and I ordered up a whole hog about a month ago or so, so I'm taking one of the hams (a big bastard at 17 lbs, btw) and have done a few things to it - brined it overnight (the brine is a mixture of kosher salt, brown sugar, mustard seed, red pepper flakes, bay leaves, and a cinnamon stick) and then started roasting it late this morning.

But not before preparing a rub, which is essentially a paste of EVOO, an entire bulb of garlic cloves, whole grain mustard (okay, I cheated and used Dijon), a large handful of Italian parsley, sage, salt and pepper; pulsing that in a food processor, then smearing that all over the ham.

In the bottom of the roaster went two large Spanish onions, cut in wedges, along with about 2 cups of apple cider.

The ham goes on the top of the onion/cider mixture and gets blasted in a 425 deg. oven for 30 minutes, before cranking down to 325 for probably 5 hours or so.

The last two hours of roasting, I take the half gallon of cider that I'd reduced down to about a pint (OMG, the apple flavor is enough to knock your socks off) and brush it on the nicely-developing ham.

The house smells heavenly at the moment.