Author Topic: Nyello  (Read 3781 times)

Offline Godot showed up

Nyello
« on: April 22, 2010, 11:07:37 AM »
Well, I just thought I'd say hello here before posting anywhere else, as is considered de rigeur. Pleased to meet you, hope you'll guess my name.

Oh, wait, I'm not the Devil. I'm just a pharma advertising editor (ie, a wordy legal drug dealer).

I'm very conservative (always been one), but in the interests of full disclosure maybe I should let you know I'm an atheist (always been one, trust me, not changing). Hope that doesn't mean I'm persona non grata here. I'm not the jerk militant kind who think they'll burst into flames if they pass by a creche at Christmas (which I love, btw; how can you not love Christmas, no matter what you believe?). I find that lot very embarrassing, they give the live-and-let-live ones among us a bad name, and I suspect they're really insecure in their unbelief. Why do they always want to ruin everyone else's good time? 95% of people believe in something divine, and IMO it's up to the 5% of us who don't to come to some civil accommodations with the rest of you, not the other way around.

I mention this because I noticed a religion topic thread on the subject, although I didn't post to it. Also it came up in another conservative forum and they just pretty much gave me the cold shoulder after that, even though I really am staunchly conservative, so I walked away.

Anyway, for me it's not a big deal. It's just a "no," and then I move on. (I remember reading years ago about classes in atheism being given somewhere, and I thought to myself, "What's to learn? Here's the syllabus: "no." If you can master that, you've passed.")
« Last Edit: April 22, 2010, 11:10:31 AM by Godot showed up »

Offline The Village Idiot

• Banned
  • Probationary (Probie)
Re: Nyello
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 11:10:15 AM »
Welcome abord, heathen.  :p

May you stick around until the fires of hell call you home.  :lmao: :rotf:

Offline Godot showed up