Author Topic: I know that most DUers do not need to read this:  (Read 385 times)

Offline dutch508

• Remember
I know that most DUers do not need to read this:
« on: July 02, 2021, 03:42:49 PM »
Thtwudbeme (6,679 posts)
https://www.democraticunderground.com/100215580799

But, some do- and that is why I am posting this. For the record, I am a middle school librarian and part of what I teach is internet safety to the children. I am aware that all the posters here are not "children," and I am not implying that.

If you are on FB, please do not respond to seemingly "innocuous fun" questions- no matter who posted them, or if your friends are answering. Some of these questions are worded like, "What was the destination of your first plane trip?" Or- do you remember your first childhood pet?" Anything that requires you to answer questions about your past- including your favorite old breakfast cereal, the street you grew up on- do NOT answer.

Those are all password protection questions- every single one of them. You might think, "Oh Jesus, Stephanie, who the eff cares about a concert I saw in 1975?"

Hackers- that's who. Think about it- why would a total stranger care that you saw Jan and Dean in California in 1967?

Social media is getting more dangerous- I am sorry, but it is. I DO have a FB page, and it is so locked down- my students MIGHT be able to find me, but all they will find out is what my favorite dog ever looked like. That's it. They can even check my friends that "liked" it- and they STILL will not be able to tell anything else.

:whatever:

71 replies

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Star Member intheflow (26,230 posts)

32. I'm also a librarian.

I use book titles and the dates I read them mixed in. An example might be 1/5CriticalRaceTheory2004. Obviously not one of my real passwords, but throwing the date and a special character in there will confuse hackers and hacking software.

:thatsright:

Collimator (1,239 posts)