Author Topic: Tobin worried about drug test.  (Read 853 times)

Offline dutch508

• Remember
Tobin worried about drug test.
« on: October 14, 2016, 05:35:56 PM »
Star Member Tobin S. (9,136 posts) http://www.democraticunderground.com/1018899068

I'm having anxiety about anxiety that's giving me anxiety.

Once a year I have to do a Department of Transportation physical for my job. I'm a trucker. Usually, drivers only have to do that once every two years, but I'm a little dinged up so they make me come in every year. That happens to most drivers as they age. If you have a blood pressure or a cholesterol problem, for example, they'll only issue your physical for one year. There are major problems that will disqualify a driver completely. I don't have any of those.

But I do have sleep apnea and my blood pressure was a little high at my last physical, so they want to see me every year. I've been trying to combat these problems because they are weight related. I've dropped 40 pounds since April, but I still have a long way to go.

I take a med for the blood pressure, but, despite that the reading can still be high at my physical and my pulse rate can also be too high as well. The reason for that is I have anxiety about the physical. My livelihood is on the line every time I go in to do that physical and I'm worried that my blood pressure and my pulse will be too high. That, in turn, makes my blood pressure and my pulse too high. Are you following me? Fear of the disease is actually causing the disease.

I did my physical today. My blood pressure was within the healthy range, but it was close. However, when they checked my pulse my ticker was kicking away at 124 beats per minute. It has to be down around 100 or lower for me to pass the test. I told them what the issue was, and they let me sit by myself so I might calm down and get my pulse rate down.