Author Topic: I'm a black doctor. My neighbors called the cops on me for listening to Biggie.  (Read 1993 times)

Offline CC27

Demovictory9 (1,061 posts)

I'm a black doctor. My neighbors called the cops on me for listening to Biggie.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/my-white-neighbors-called-the-cops-on-me-for-listening-to-hip-hop/2018/05/28/54930d04-4fbe-11e8-af46-b1d6dc0d9bfe_story.html?utm_term=.90575aa93773

Knock knock.

Who could that be? I wondered. It was such an aggressive knock — definitely not friendly — that I froze. I finally stood up and walked to the door. I opened it with purpose, ready to confront the person on the other side.

He said: “Your neighbors called the police for a disturbance.”

It was 3 p.m. on a Saturday last fall.

-----------------

Then came the knocks.

On my doorstep was a man with a gun; it was a police officer. He spoke abruptly and was frightening.

“Is someone else in here?” he said. His hand was near his hip, close to the gun in its holster.

“No, I’m alone,” I blurted, startled.

“I need to see your identification.”

“Why? I live here.” I felt bullied in my own apartment.

“I have to report this incident, and I need your identification.”

Feeling helpless, I reluctantly turned and walked to get the license out of my wallet. I handed it to him. “So what happens now?” I asked, deflated.

https://upload.democraticunderground.com/100210668085

Cool story bro.  :whatever:

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
Oh my.

I'm pretty sure that happened.  Not.
apres moi, le deluge

Offline SVPete

I doubt his neighbors knew whose music he was playing. The two plausible explanations I see as likely:

* The music was cranked up so damn loud that the neighbors would have called the police were the song, "Sing, Sing, Sing" or the "1812 Overture";