Author Topic: primitives don't understand how work works  (Read 1183 times)

Offline USA4ME

• Evil Capitalist
primitives don't understand how work works
« on: March 05, 2009, 01:35:56 PM »
Quote from:
Taverner

Anyone notice the less you do, the more you get paid?

OK - I remember working as a bagger for a grocery store. Back braking labor! I cleaned, bagged, lifted, crushed - basically all the kind of work perfect for a 17 year old who wants to do for a good salary. The union took good care of us, and in return we took good care of the grocery store.

Then I got a promotion - to checker. After learning every fruit and vegetable's code, I started doing that. Now I got paid $3 more per hour, and I worked less. A lot less. Most heavy lifting could be done by summoning a bagger.

Since then I've done a bunch of jobs and noticed this trend. I worked in Tech Support: got paid lower than an IT professionals' wage and the work was hard work. Went into sales, doubled my salary and cut the actual work in half. Cut my knowledge base in half too.

What gives? Defintiely seems to be the reverse of the Horatio Alger story...

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x5191995#5192034

WT...?????

Someone remind me, why do these dolts believe they're the most intelligent people on the planet?

Quote from:
Sequoia

1. It's like that where I work.

They always work less hours, come in late, and leave whenever they feel like it with no repremand whatsoever.

Quote from:
knowbody0

2. yes, and I believe it got really bad when they created "middle management" positions. it created this ugly void between bosses and workers.

The only "ugly void" is between your ears, primitive.

Quote from:
polichick

3. That's why it's so amazing to hear wealthy Republicans complain about paying higher taxes to support people who don't work as hard as they do. What a crock!