Author Topic: Visual Basic or Java  (Read 2894 times)

Offline SSG Snuggle Bunny

• Global Moderator
  • Voted Rookie-of-the-Year, 3 years running
Visual Basic or Java
« on: January 26, 2010, 06:08:00 PM »
Which would you want to learn first if you were a total n00b wanting to diddle with databases?
According to the Bible, "know" means "yes."

Offline cclanofirish

• Just Off Probation
Re: Visual Basic or Java
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2010, 08:40:03 PM »
Which would you want to learn first if you were a total n00b wanting to diddle with databases?

I would (and am) learning Jython...it makes learning the most useful parts of Java very easy...then study Java in depth.

Offline Chris

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2010, 08:48:50 PM »
Visual Basic is pretty simple... you can cobble an interface together in an afternoon and the same program can be updated to work with different databases (Access, SQL).  I have no Java experience.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2010, 08:55:29 PM by Chris »
This post is disruptive, hurtful, rude, insensitive, over-the-top, or otherwise inappropriate.

Offline LC EFA

• Hickus Australianus
  • In Memoriam
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2010, 10:43:06 PM »
Neither.

I'd learn how to drive SQL first , then use PHP.

Offline Oceander

« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2010, 11:08:37 PM »
SQL first, as LC EFA says - if you're really a total noobie (welcome to the club, I'm the junior flunky here! :-) ), "SQL" stands for "Standard Query Language" and is, as it rather literally states, a standardized language for interacting with most of the major databases out there today, including, most likely, CC, which uses MySQL (freeware) as its database software.