Author Topic: Hobo brought to his knees  (Read 3252 times)

Offline AzJames73

• Deplorable
Hobo brought to his knees
« on: May 24, 2017, 07:40:46 AM »
https://www.democraticunderground.com/10029108451

Hobo (574 posts)

Well my DU friends I have finally brought to my knees
Trying to survive in this world, after being down sized a year ago, I have come to the end of the road. Savings are gone, driving for Uber is not making ends meet any more. My cell has been turned off, so I won't be able to drive until phone is turned back on. I am using WiFi at local library to read and post. After tonight I will be forced to live in my car. I have applied to over 1000 positions. I am a mechanical engineer with 38 years experience, I have gotten 1 interview past the phone screens. I never get a reason why my degree and experience can't land me a job, all I hear is crickets. I know my age has a lot to do with it. Companies are going to the young people recently graduated, plus in my line of work there is a lot of outsourcing to what is called High Value Engineering Centers, mostly located in India. I have applied at best buy, barnes and nobles, car dealerships and still nothing. This is America in 2017. I was hoping to work until I could collect my social security which I paid into the maximum every year. Now it seems even if I find a way to reach it it would not be there. This is America in 2017.

So after tonight I will only be able to lurk intermittently when I can use some free WiFi. I will of course continue resisting. I still have a soul and reason to live. I am down but not defeated. I will be back on my feet soon. I hope.

Thank you to all here for being my safe place in times of trouble since 2001 and my clubhouse in the good times.

I hope to be able to check back soon

Peace

Hobo

Anyone on DU under 50 ? TMN, Rock head, and others are 70+

Offline fatboy

• Does this gun make me look fat?
  • skinnier than the average primitive
Re: Hobo brought to his knees