Author Topic: The Forest's Edge Part One  (Read 1852 times)

Offline Sonnabend

The Forest's Edge Part One
« on: January 05, 2008, 05:07:38 PM »
Five years ago, I was an admin for another board which has long since passed into oblivion. A few days ago, I was rummaging through some old backup CD's..and found this.

There will be more to come.

Introduction: Acknowledgement is given to the creator of one of the greatest books on animals, Richard Adams "Watership Down" for inspiration. Thanks also to the Wardancing Weasel, for creative assistance.

Tavek paused on the ridge, his eyes scanning carefully. Above, the clouds scudded west, the hint of moisture in the air a harbinger of approaching winter. The snows would not be for some weeks, but the seasons were turning now, and even if the pack moved both day and night, it was unlikely they'd reach the High Forest before first snowfall.

To the east, their trail lay behind them, the river that had almost taken two lives of his pack flowing freely, giving no hint of the lethal icy cold currents in its depths. Tavek cursed again, berating himself for his carelessness. Any idiot would know that the runoff at this time of year would be from the frigid mountain springs..and that oversight on his part had led to a near tragedy.

Megar, his mate, had said nothing, but she had stared at him for a few seconds, her anguish and fury at his lapse all too evident.

"Next leg is over that hill, then eight miles due west" he muttered to himself. "Got to find a place to shelter and feed , then push on in a day or so." The sound of paws behind him made his ears flick..then relax as the familiar scent of his Second, an older grey wolf named Morvat, wafted into his nostrils.

"The pups're feelin' the cold, Tavek...if we don't get 'em into cover soon, they'll slow us down." he warned,appraising the terrain. "When we get into the open, that wind is going to freeze 'em solid..and quickly."