Author Topic: I am seriously considering going to Ukraine to fight  (Read 617 times)

Offline dutch508

• Remember
I am seriously considering going to Ukraine to fight
« on: March 02, 2022, 08:49:32 AM »
Star Member Mortos (2,287 posts)
https://www.democraticunderground.com/100216423709

I am a veteran. I have training in radio communications, small arms, grenades, claymore mines, machine guns, and shoulder-fired weapons. I have been out of the military for 24 years. I am 55 years old and in good health. It is killing me every day to see the pain inflicted on peaceful Ukrainian civilians and soldiers. President Zelensky has asked people with military experience to come and help defend his country. I feel like a coward standing by and watching a dictator try to subjugate an entire country and kill its women, children, and democratically elected leaders.

It feels like watching history repeat itself and we all now say why didn't someone stop Hitler.

It would cost me just under $800 to fly to Poland.

The military times has instructions about how to apply at a Ukrainian consulate.

I think about this non-stop.

5. I was never in combat as a soldier

I served during the relatively peaceful Clinton years. I did work in Iraq as a civilian contractor but not in a military capacity.

Star Member Kaleva (29,613 posts)

6. I respect that and wish you a safe return!

Star Member LymphocyteLover (2,950 posts)

13. I almost do too though I'm 59 and have no military experience

keithbvadu2 (24,633 posts)

16. You probably won't see Donald Sr, or Donnie Jr, or Eric, or any MAGAts on your flight.

You probably won't see Donald Sr, or Donnie Jr, or Eric, or any MAGAts on your flight.

bhikkhu (10,587 posts)

22. I have no training whatsoever myself, but I know what you mean

I wish I could help somehow, but maybe buying war bonds would be the best thing in my case.