Author Topic: Flu Shots Pro and Cons  (Read 8296 times)

Offline Ballygrl

• Lipstick Renegade
Flu Shots Pro and Cons
« on: October 23, 2011, 09:51:42 PM »
Every year my Husband and I have this discussion, should we or shouldn't we get a flu shot. We've never had 1 before, even though I worked in the Medical Field for years. Honestly, I'm nervous about getting 1 just because I haven't had 1 before. Most people have had 1 and they've had no problem at all with them, then you speak to a few people who say they'd never have 1 again. About 10 years ago my Husband and I got the flu, it was a Friday and that morning my Husband started to get sick, I took him to the Doctor and while waiting with him in the waiting room I started to get symptoms that he had earlier in the morning, we both got a prescription, we went to get it filled, we went to bed and we were literally in bed for a week, we were that sick, the 2nd week we started feeling better but we were still sick and hardly worked the 2nd week, it literally took us a month to get over it. The thought of getting the flu terrifies me but the shot kind of scares me too.

What do you guys think about the flu shot?
"The nation that couldn’t be conquered by foreign enemies has been conquered by its elected officials" odawg Free Republic in reference to the GOP Elites who are no difference than the Democrats

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
Re: Flu Shots Pro and Cons
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 09:55:15 PM »
<<gets a flu shot every year.

Of course because I smoke; but until this past week, I hadn't even had a cold for four years, and I suspect always having been immunized against the flu, I avoided colds in the past.

This year the cold bug just struck earlier than usual.

Usually I get one every November.

It's a shot in the dark, though.  I haven't ever had any bad reactions, but I'm me, and everybody else is somebody else.  I've heard some tales of woe.