Author Topic: the Tobe looks at the bright side; isn't going to complain to the boss yet  (Read 1395 times)

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
http://www.democraticunderground.com/1018921645

Oh my.

And I see it's "hearts" time on Skins's island; the Tobe's already got four of 'em.

Tobin S. (9,282 posts)     Mon Feb 6, 2017, 04:28 AM

I'll start my third week in a row of 63 hour work weeks later today.

I work nights, too, usually 4pm to anywhere from 1:30am to 4am depending on the day. That means I get one day off, Sunday, and then I'm back to it. I don't really get to spend much quality time with my wife on my day off because I have to keep with the hours of my work schedule to ensure that I get enough rest. I'm a trucker and getting enough sleep is very important for my job.

I started the job last summer and it was supposed to be a 4 day 42 hour work week. It turned into 5 day work weeks right after I signed on. I happily took that on because I can use the extra cash and that's another $11,000 a year. Then they lost a driver last month leaving us short-handed. A couple of other drivers and I have had to pick up the slack. It's not usually hard to fill a position like that, but I guess they are taking their time to make sure they have someone good.

I'm not going to complain to the boss just yet, but they are going to have to get someone in there within the next month or so. I'm getting too old to work that hard for long. When I was younger, I put in those kinds of hours, or more, for years. I'm okay with 10-12 hours a day, but I do need two consecutive days off a week to feel good and have a little leisure time.

On the bright side, the money is good. 

<<<wonders why the Tobe isn't looking for a social services job, like he said he would.

Sherman A1 (19,026 posts)      Mon Feb 6, 2017, 04:34 AM

1. That's a whole lot of hours for anyone for that length of time