Author Topic: Dennis the Menace wants to meet guys  (Read 292 times)

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
Dennis the Menace wants to meet guys
« on: December 16, 2012, 01:38:40 PM »
http://www.democraticunderground.com/11145935

Oh my.

Denninmi (4,425 posts)    Sat Dec 15, 2012, 02:36 PM

Ok, guys, I need advice on this - how can I relate better to other men and develop friendships?

One thing I realized during my recent mental health crisis is that I really don't want to be socially awkward and isolated. Due to the upbringing I described in the other thread, I was never "one of the guys", never allowed to participate in sports or activities, not even allowed to just hang out with other kids. Never learned about cars, sports, outdoor activities like hunting or camping. Being gun-shy about male authority figures due to experiences with my father didn't help, I had no good male role model in my life. I was a great student, into early PCs, books, far too insecure in my self-esteem to date or even approach girls, all things that said "nerd, pick on me."

I've had a couple of pretty close friendships as an adult, started as work relationships and expanded to there to the point we would do things after work or on days off or weekends, and it was nice. But, those guys moved on, getting into relationships then married, and I didn't want to be a fifth wheel. I still keep in touch, but not all that often, and they are too busy to really have time to hang out.

So, thoughts? I would love to fit in and be "one of the guys".

Major Nikon (7,683 posts)    Sat Dec 15, 2012, 05:07 PM

2. I think the best thing you can do is get out of the house