Author Topic: lowest-paid nurse in America gripes about minimum wage  (Read 2335 times)

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
lowest-paid nurse in America gripes about minimum wage
« on: February 05, 2008, 04:17:39 AM »
http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x2818473

Oh my.

Ms. Ed, the unappellated eohippus:

Horse with no Name  (1000+ posts)       Mon Feb-04-08 09:51 PM
Original message

I graduated from High School in 1981

Minimum wage was $3.35/hr

27 years later it is only $5.85.

THAT is what is wrong in America.

The story behind the headline is that last week, the unappellated eohippus complained that the $500-per-month Blue Cross-Blue Shield plan she has at work is 25% of her monthly income.

Ms. Ed either lied about the size of her premium, or grossly understated her income as a registered nurse.

No registered nurse in America makes anything like only $24,000 per year.

Or perhaps the unappellated eohippus is a keyboardist in a hospital or clinic, rather than a nurse, but wishes to be seen by other primitives as a nurse.

Anyway, like a row of dominos, when a primitive lies once, the lies start tumbling out, and one is reasonably sure Ms. Ed is going to continue feeding both the primitives and decent civilized people some real whoppers.

devilgrrl  (1000+ posts)      Mon Feb-04-08 09:53 PM
Original message

I also graduated in 1981 and most of my classmates are right-wing assholes.

How did our generation get so conservative?

tekisui  (1000+ posts)      Mon Feb-04-08 09:53 PM
Response to Original message

1. When I started working in 1996, it was $5.15.

12 years later....$5.85

htuttle  (1000+ posts)      Mon Feb-04-08 09:54 PM

2. Same here

And I don't think $5.85 buys anywhere near what $3.35 bought back then.

leftofthedial (1000+ posts)      Mon Feb-04-08 09:56 PM

3. there should be a MAXIMUM WAGE/INCOME and it should be indexed to the minimum wage