Author Topic: dysmenopausal Kansas school teacher takes a bath on stock market  (Read 701 times)

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
dysmenopausal Kansas school teacher takes a bath on stock market
« on: September 30, 2008, 01:02:12 PM »
http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x4131975

Oh my.

And remember, the dysmenopausal Kansas schoolteacher Hates capitalism.

proud2Blib  Donating Member  (1000+ posts) Tue Sep-30-08 10:59 AM
Original message

I have lived without credit cards for years.

I make a good living. I have a masters degree and have advanced in my profession. My house is paid for and I have a decent but not fancy car. I am approaching retirement.

And I lost a lot of money in the stock market yesterday. But I am not angry.

I want my government to help PEOPLE, not corporations. My portfolio will recover. But 18,000 people will die in the US this year because they don't have health insurance. The number of homeless vets on our streets will continue to rise while our government fails to address their needs.

The middle class will continue to suffer and shrink. More and more of our kids won't be able to afford college.

So please don't ask me, an educated person who lives without credit cards, to just blindly approve of handing money over to corporations without holding them accountable. And don't ask me to go along with any bailout that ignores the homeless, the uninsured, and any American PEOPLE who need our help.

Sample primitive comments, selected at random:

proud2Blib  Donating Member  (1000+ posts) Tue Sep-30-08 11:43 AM
Response to Reply #1

12. Yes I do have a mortgage and a car loan

My point is (and I will acknowledge I wasn't very articulate) that even though I do live with as little credit as possible, I did lose money in the market. But I would rather see our country reach out to the homeless than to Wall Street.