Author Topic: I work as a contractor for the DoD  (Read 860 times)

Offline Texacon

• Super
  • All The Way!
I work as a contractor for the DoD
« on: January 21, 2020, 10:58:20 AM »
https://www.democraticunderground.com/100212892095

The Polack MSgt (6,096 posts)

I work as a contractor for the DoD

And I occasionally travel overseas in the course of my job.

When I travel to some, let's call them problematic areas, I need to out process as if I was deploying.

That includes the need to take some refresher training courses prior to departure.

I retired a LONG time ago, and I am about as far from a low drag high speed operator as you're likely to find in theater. But I still need to check the boxes.

Anyway, I was doing the SERE (Survival Evasion Resistance Escape) training and the post capture section included a "Resisting Indoctrination" portion

This information feels like something we need to keep in mind in everyday America now.

First, recognize the attempts to indoctrinate you and which propaganda type you are dealing with - Ideological, Political or Religious fanatics differ in focus but share several traits:

-Only they possess the truth
-Will NOT tolerate opposing views
-No matter the subject of the discussion they will introduce THEIR values and judgement into the conversation.
-Attempt to force you to adopt or at least to concede the validity of their distorted out look

Look out for the use of one or more of the following methods of indoctrination:

-Music and dramatic recordings
-Posters video clips and films
-One sided media
-Lies half truths and incomplete information

Those things remind me of someplace.... I just can't put my finger on it, but I'll bet someone here will remember.

:rotf:

grumpyduck (1,269 posts)

2. Gee, that sounds just like

oh, never mind. Nah, it's all in my imagination.