Author Topic: ALL High Schools should be turned into two year colleges  (Read 703 times)

Offline dutch508

• Remember
ALL High Schools should be turned into two year colleges
« on: June 15, 2020, 10:21:22 PM »
Amy-Strange (530 posts)

ALL High Schools should be turned into two year colleges, and...the result would be that everyone who finishes high school would be awarded the Associates Degree of their choice, but you know that ain't gonna happen, because of the way the accreditation system is set up in this country.

I have an Associates Degree, and the only difference between what I learned in college and high school was that you got more details about each subject in college.

Of course, that might make an AA almost obsolete like a high school diploma is, but the important thing is that it will also give everyone a two year heads up on college and less student loan debt.

Just my opinion, but I think it's worth discussing.

What do y'all think?

EDIT: I'm talking about turning the high schools we already pay for into college Associate Degree shops, without going to and paying for college, or something like that.
============

:whatever: you mean worthless, not obsolete...

Thomas Hurt (6,516 posts)

1. I always thought of associates degrees as more trades or vocational oriented...

something you didn't get in high school other than a shop class, if they still do shop class.

I learned a lot more about critical thinking in college though, that is not a bad thing if it will take with people.

Star Member Yavin4 (29,551 posts)

4. I agree. Though, I would extend High School by 2 years.

And create different tracks. One for people who want to go to college and another track for people who want to learn a profession like plumbing, carpentry, hair salon, etc.

Star Member csziggy (29,432 posts)

8. Back in the 1960s the high school I went to had three tracks