Author Topic: I am a small business owner who would LOVE to insure my employees. It is simply  (Read 707 times)

Offline Freeper

• Creepy ass cracker.
eeyore  (1000+ posts)  Journal  Click to send private message to this author  Click to view this author's profile  Click to add this author to your buddy list  Click to add this author to your Ignore list      Thu Aug-20-09 02:09 PM
Original message
I am a small business owner who would LOVE to insure my employees. It is simply unaffordable.

I own a small business that currently employs 11 people, ranging from 28-42 years old. At present I do not provide insurance for them, though I would love to, even just on a catastrophic level. Unfortunately I have found out it is unaffordable.

One of my employees recently had an off the job accident. While sewing, she had jammed a needle under her thumbnail. Though she kept it very clean, it clearly had become infected, but she did not go to a doctor because she was afraid of the cost. She kept trying to keep it clean, but it got worse over the course of a few days, and eventually she was in so much pain that she decided that she needed to lance her nail (with the aid of some whiskey as a painkiller/courage bringer).

I had offered to pay for her to go to the doctor, but she felt guilty about that, and eventually was convinced to forgo the self-inflicted home lancing procedure in favor of a subsidized clinic the next day. Turns out she had been infected with mrsa (staff) virus, which can be very dangerous if not treated. The visit ended up costing her about $400, which I'm certain she put on a credit card. In the end all she would accept from me was a paid day off. She knows we are just making it every month, and did not want to contribute anything that might jeopardize her future employment.