Author Topic: Network Security industry.  (Read 1983 times)

Offline EagleKeeper

• ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Network Security industry.
« on: January 03, 2013, 07:22:31 PM »
This is just a stupid rant.

I'm a network engineer that's a little frustrated, I have to manage new network connections into the core network and obviously support their existing infrastructure while still doing what I can to insure that their network remains secure, not to mention the core network.

So far it's mostly T-1, VPN and MPLS connections just for context.

So, I'm a network engineer but now I need to also be a network security expert. I will admit I have dabbled in it in a mixture of interest and survival, I love snort and base and mysql on linux.

It has been very useful but it's always in forensics with something that has already happened.

I was looking at a job add today that I thought was interesting, I think it kind of shows that IT folkes either have to "get more specialties" or they are going to fall behind.

I think that specializing in networking or in user support or in network security is going to fall by the wayside. The next hot thing is an expert in all these fields.

I don't think it can be done by an individual company, they just cant afford the folkes that it would take. One company that I worked for had IBM (OS-390), Solaris and Red Hat on the front end and mssql on the backend and we are supposed to keep up with that how?

Anyway, here are the job requirements (perhaps a glance into the future so study up slackers).

* Application Integrity
* Business Continuity Management
* Identity & Access Management
* Infrastructure & Operations Security
* Privacy & Data Protection
* Security Management
* Vulnerability Management
Job Duties:
* Demonstrate advanced understanding of business processes, internal control risk management, IT controls and related standards