Author Topic: Patching Asphalt  (Read 1713 times)

Offline whiffleball

Patching Asphalt
« on: November 19, 2009, 07:13:09 AM »
We've got a couple of large cracked, sinking areas along the edge of our asphalt drive.  These need to be fixed before we can seal the entire drive.

With cold weather coming on we need to get this done right away, but I've never done it before and could use some advice. 

Offline Wineslob

• Sucking the life out of Liberty
Re: Patching Asphalt
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 09:52:14 AM »
You can get asphalt in bags (Lowes, Home Depot). I fixed a berm around one of our storm drains with it. At first it looked like the stuff wouldent work, but after tamping it down a bit (used a 4X4), and once it set, it was good to go.
Leaving the bag in the sun for awhile helped to soften it up so it was easy to work with.
“The national budget must be balanced. The public debt must be reduced; the arrogance of the authorities must be moderated and controlled. Payments to foreign governments must be reduced, if the nation doesn't want to go bankrupt. People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance.”

-- Marcus Tullius Cicero, 55 BC (106-43 BC)

The unobtainable is unknown at Zombo.com

"Practice random violence and senseless acts of brutality"

If you want a gender neutral bathroom, go pee in the forest.

Offline whiffleball

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 10:35:26 AM »
Thanks for the tip about the sun.  Did you use it straight or put tar down first? 

Offline Wineslob

• Sucking the life out of Liberty
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2009, 05:32:56 PM »
Right out of the bag.
“The national budget must be balanced. The public debt must be reduced; the arrogance of the authorities must be moderated and controlled. Payments to foreign governments must be reduced, if the nation doesn't want to go bankrupt. People must again learn to work, instead of living on public assistance.”

-- Marcus Tullius Cicero, 55 BC (106-43 BC)