Author Topic: Poverty in America - The Continuing Saga  (Read 1132 times)

Offline LC EFA

• Hickus Australianus
  • In Memoriam
Poverty in America - The Continuing Saga
« on: January 31, 2009, 01:12:18 AM »
Thus the saga continues..

NanceGreggs  Donating Member  (1000+ posts)  Fri Jan-30-09 06:14 PM
Original message
Poverty in America: No Shirt, No Shoes – No Service    Updated at 6:14 PM

I am a fourth-grader, and I live with my mom and two brothers. We sleep in our winter jackets and lots of blankets, because mom says we can’t afford the heating bills. She says don’t tell anyone, because they might come and take us away from her. She cries a lot. I figure I’m not the only kid who lives like this. And I think if some people knew our situation, they might help my mom out. Why doesn’t anyone know about us?

I am a Nam vet. I have lived on the street for so long, I don’t even remember how many years it’s been. I put my life on the line for my country. When I came home, I was pretty messed up – a lot of us came home that way. A lot of us now live the way I do. Why are we invisible?

I am a housewife. My husband and I worked hard all our lives, and always put something aside for a rainy day. But when that rainy day came, it poured. My husband lost his job, and then he got sick – real sick. The medical bills wiped us out. Now we live on the social security checks, but with the price of things being what they are nowadays, they don’t go far. We go to the food bank regular now, because otherwise we wouldn’t eat. I am ashamed to have to take handouts. But we have no choice. And the bills keep piling up, too. We know we ain’t the only folks living this life – being afraid every day, knowing what little we got might be gone someday soon. Why are people like us a secret?