Author Topic: MS Access 2007 - Need DB Help  (Read 3503 times)

Offline SSG Snuggle Bunny

• Global Moderator
  • Voted Rookie-of-the-Year, 3 years running
MS Access 2007 - Need DB Help
« on: November 19, 2009, 02:40:53 PM »
I'm not a programmer by any stretch of the imagination nor have I ever presented myself as one but evryone around here seems to think I'm some sort of computer genius because I can pump MS Word for all it's worth and do half decent on Photoshop. Efforts on my part to disabuse them of their fantasies are dismissed as my being overly-modest (as if THAT would ever happen!).

One of the branch chiefs wants a spreadsheet to track the progress of his project managers as they handle their 30 some-odd tasks. I told him Excel is not the animal he wants but he is tone-deaf to my pleas and has extreme psycholofgical hurdles to Access. Whatever, I'm perfectly content to ignore what people ask for in order to give them what they need/truly want but I lack the know-how to get over the biggest hump in this project.

helpzz!

A. I've gotten fields to look up other tables as a drop-down but here is what I need to happen:

When selecting which position the employee works in I want a drop-down menu that will present job positions depending upon which branch the employee works in, i.e. If working in Branch 1 positions A, B or C are presented but if the emplyee works in Branch 2 then positions X, Y and Z are presented in the drop-down.

B. This is the biggie.

The projects here go through TWENTY-EIGHT defineable phases. I need to track:

1. When each phase is expected to begin (I'm using a date picker)

2. When said phase is completed (date picker)

3. Track whether or not the phase is overdue based on whether or not it has been completed based on point 1.