Author Topic: COVID is not infecting/killing as many as we need to stop the bad orange man!  (Read 512 times)

Offline Texacon

• Super
  • All The Way!
https://www.democraticunderground.com/100213068826

USALiberal (4,570 posts)

So, are there really only about 800 COVID cases in the USA?

Current number is 793.

Seems like with testing kits becoming available, this should be increasing by more than 100 per day.

I thought for every infected person, they can spread it to 2 or 3 others.

The number infected must be much higher.

Now, watch the magic numbers!   :lmao:

These are the people of SCIENCE!!  dammit.

LonePirate (10,412 posts)

1. I suspect it is closer to 80000 than it is to 800.

The virus has been circulating for weeks.

lapfog_1 (23,425 posts)

2. No... there are at LEAST 5000+ cases

we just don't know it yet.

Maybe 10,000... or more

lapfog_1 (23,425 posts)

14. Thanks... but I am a scientist... not an MD or epidemiologist

but I have a fair idea about this subject. At the very least I have a mathematics background. The math says I am right... the experience other countries have gone through say I'm right. Only the idiots trying to pretend this isn't happening (mostly at the top of the federal government right now) would say "we know you are wrong".

Honestly, I would love to be wrong. I would love to believe there are only 800 cases in the US right now and this is no worse than the flu... blah blah blah.

But I'm not.

The only thing s/he missed were the words "sheepishly" and "sadly".

flying_wahini (2,160 posts)

4. My guess is that there are at least 2000+ in the US alone.

But several test kits from the early batch were deemed inconclusive.

Native (2,992 posts)

6. Experts have been saying it's more like 20,000 based on modeling

But that was a couple of days ago, and the numbers grow exponentially. Lots of respected sources have done modeling, and this # seems to be the best guess as of today.

USALiberal (4,570 posts)