Author Topic: 800mg Motrin?  (Read 9474 times)

Offline Toastedturningtidelegs

• Holy Crap! Look at my
  • OBAMA PHONE!
800mg Motrin?
« on: June 10, 2011, 10:05:19 AM »
Anyone know how long you can take this much Motrin before it really starts doing a number on your liver?
Call me "Asshole" One more time!

Offline Eupher

• U.S. Army, Retired
Re: 800mg Motrin?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 10:22:38 AM »
I'm no doctor, but I'd say that each person is different.

800 mg is prescription strength. Drugs.com says that much Ibuprofen can not just do a number on your liver, but also on your heart. Bypass patients (before and after) need to avoid it like the plague.

The short answer is, I don't think you're going to get a straight answer on that question. About the best you'll get is "check with your doctor."

Personally, I don't take more than 600 mg at a whack, unless the doc prescribes it.
Adams E2 Euphonium, built in 2017
Boosey & Co. Imperial Euphonium, built in 1941
Edwards B454 bass trombone, built 2012
Bach Stradivarius 42OG tenor trombone, built 1992
Kanstul 33-T BBb tuba, built 2011
Fender Precision Bass Guitar, built ?
Mouthpiece data provided on request.

Offline debk

• Topic Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 11:04:45 AM »
800Motrin is the same as 4 Advils. I took that every night and often 2 at a time during the day.

It took years before it happened, but I can't take it anymore. Don't know what it's done to my liver, but I think it started to burn a hole in my esophagus. I was having terrible heartburn, to the point I was vomiting blood, when I had it. I quit taking it about a year ago. Of the two or three times, I've had heartburn since...it's been when I've tried taking Advil again.  :bawl:

I went with BEG's suggestion of Excedrin Migraine, and am only taking it when I have a severe headache.

The rest of the time, I just accept that my neck hurts.
Just hand over the chocolate...back away slowly...far away....and you won't get hurt....