Author Topic: Today I saw a MAGA hat and...  (Read 478 times)

Offline FunkyZero

• ha ha, charade you are
Today I saw a MAGA hat and...
« on: August 22, 2022, 04:44:24 PM »
...  I was so triggered, I imagined a bunch of stuff that could have happened and then fantasized about what I would have said, and now I'm telling YOU about my make-believe confrontation for DU cred.

https://www.democraticunderground.com/100217071322

Mon Aug 22, 2022, 05:19 PM
Thtwudbeme (7,666 posts)

Had a run in with a MAGA hatted Trumper at the Dollar Tree (it turned out well)
I got to the Dollar Tree constantly at the beginning of the school year. I am a middle school librarian and nothing- I mean nothing- gets the kids reading like sparkle gel pens and graphic novels. I also get a ton of cheap plastic-y type of modeling clay because I teach the kiddos stop motion animation. (My media center is super cool- none of that "shhhhh" crap for me).

As I was checking out, I told the cashier to "have a super rest of the day." My exact words.

Old guy in a MAGA hat and an O2 cannula said loudly, "No, it's have a BLESSED day." Total snark.

I can't say a damned thing in that neighborhood because a parent may recognize me and call the principal.

I SO wanted to say something- such as "life is not about FB memes," "turn off Fox news you jerk and learn some manners," "My day is none of your business," "I will burn some sage and dance around the oak tree at midnight while I am thinking of you...."

However, I turned around and smiled and said, "Oh you also!" And left.

But seriously. WTF? What is wrong with these people? Why do they feel obligated to impose themselves on other's conversations?

Don't tell me kids have horrid manners these days- the children at my school have beautiful manners. I work in a large diverse school. However, the adults these days are awful.

Response to Thtwudbeme (Original post)Mon Aug 22, 2022, 05:26 PM
Star Member Karadeniz (16,834 posts)