Interests > Living Off of the Grid & Survivalism

Advice for a friend

(1/4) > >>

Allentownjake:
One of my best friends is looking for a gun for home protection in an urban environment.  I personally have always been partial to the shotgun.  Of course I live in the suburbs.  I don't want to miss in the dark and if I have to fire it, I don't want what I hit to move afterwards.   I have a 30 odd 6 rifle, but that was for hunting not really for protecting the house.  My dad had a Luger that one of his friends at the Legion gave him before they died, but I have never fired it and have no ammunition for it.

He is looking to spend between $300 and $400.

I'd advised a shotgun, did I do wrong?

Thor:
You're going to get a mix of opinions here. In general and for the absolute novice, shotguns are pretty decent for home protection. The disadvantages are: they're long and can be unwieldy AND, they don't usually hold more than 5 rounds. I prefer handguns myself. However, I am far from a novice (nor an expert).  They are easier to handle  & hold more rounds. Like any tool, they need to be practiced with before a person can be considered proficient. (The myth that shotguns won't normally go through walls is just that, a myth)

Allentownjake:

--- Quote from: Thor on September 07, 2010, 07:52:21 PM ---You're going to get a mix of opinions here. In general and for the absolute novice, shotguns are pretty decent for home protection. The disadvantages are: they're long and can be unwieldy AND, they don't usually hold more than 5 rounds. I prefer handguns myself. However, I am far from a novice (nor an expert).  They are easier to handle  & hold more rounds. Like any tool, they need to be practiced with before a person can be considered proficient. (The myth that shotguns won't normally go through walls is just that, a myth)

--- End quote ---