Author Topic: Apologies to the board  (Read 5608 times)

Offline Allentownjake

• I'm a mole for OET
Apologies to the board
« on: September 09, 2010, 06:43:17 PM »
I've come on here with a great deal of misunderstanding of your membership.  My introduction to the board was reading you called me a dipshit and nominated me for DUmmie of the year.  I lurked for a while.

I'm going to give you my background.

I have a degree in Accounting.  I graduated with a 3.5 from Temple University in Philadelphia.  My father was a 1st Lt in Vietnam and a Ranger conditioning trainer.  My mother was a 1st Lt. in Vietnam and a nurse.

My father worked for 33 years for Western Electric, which became AT&T which became Lucent.  My father was forced into retirement when the CEO at Lucent ran it into the ground.

I was hired by Arthur Andersen right before the Enron Scandal.  I worked in securities compliance for Lincoln Financial Group for 5 years.  There was no opening in PA and I have an autistic brother I wanted to see more.

I worked for a private accounting firm for 6 months till I found another job because I had a new boss every month.

I worked for a healthcare company, till a manager was promoted with no experience in the field and I had difficulty explaining to her the auditing profession.  She targeted me for layoff because I said she probably shouldn't eliminate some processes and I went over her head.  Probably shouldn't have done that but I was worried about quality and she was unable to assuage me quality would not suffer.

When you hear my frustration with Corporate America, it generally comes with the fact, I don't feel I can depend on them as an employee.  Might be an unreasonable expectation but my father worked for 33 years and hard at the same place and was very loyal to his company.

Same with my mother with her hospital.