Author Topic: Are any Constitutional Amendments absolute?  (Read 818 times)

Offline Ralph Wiggum

• It's unpossible that I'm a
Are any Constitutional Amendments absolute?
« on: June 02, 2022, 08:58:39 PM »
Have heard poop for brains and pants Joey keep repeating "The Second Amendment is not absolute".

Example from tonight:

https://www.foxnews.com/politics/biden-address-gun-control-assault-weapons-ban

Now, I'm not a lawyer but I'm pretty damn good at language and linguistics. Just for poops and laughs, if the 2nd amendment right to own a gun (or cannon, perhaps a musket if you wish) were removed, what would be "absolute" about any other Amendment to the U.S. Constitution?

Perhaps an Executive, Judicial and Legislative would remove the freedom of the press, speech, or religion. Or any other that might inconvenience either party.  Just a refresher:

1   Freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly, and petition.
2   Right to keep and bear arms in order to maintain a well regulated militia.
3   No quartering of soldiers.
4   Freedom from unreasonable searches and seizures.
5   Right to due process of law, freedom from self-incrimination, double jeopardy.
6   Rights of accused persons, e.g., right to a speedy and public trial.
7   Right of trial by jury in civil cases.
8   Freedom from excessive bail, cruel and unusual punishments.
9   Other rights of the people.
10   Powers reserved to the states.

If we remove anything or disregard any, then we're all freaking doomed.
Voted hottest "chick" at CU - My hotness transcends gender

Offline Eupher

• U.S. Army, Retired
Re: Are any Constitutional Amendments absolute?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2022, 09:23:45 PM »