Author Topic: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?  (Read 21550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chris_

  • Little Lebowski Urban Achiever
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 46845
  • Reputation: +2028/-266
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #50 on: May 19, 2014, 10:28:32 AM »
Help!  I don't know who to PM to find my password.  I'm actually Whiffleball and something has hosed up under my Options in Mozilla.  Nothing about CC has been saved in the history and when I try to log in as myself no auto password appears as it did in the past.
Check your PMs.
If you want to worship an orange pile of garbage with a reckless disregard for everything, get on down to Arbys & try our loaded curly fries.

Offline whiffleball

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2156
  • Reputation: +95/-21
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #51 on: May 19, 2014, 10:37:55 AM »
Check your PMs.

Done.  Thank you Chris!

Offline thundley4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 38592
  • Reputation: +2015/-123
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #52 on: May 19, 2014, 12:02:42 PM »
Check your PMs.

Well, that's one excuse and a way of creating of a sock puppet.  :-)

Offline AllosaursRus

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11672
  • Reputation: +424/-293
  • Skip Tracing by Contract Only!
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #53 on: July 19, 2014, 09:34:43 AM »
That is one of the many reasons I don't use IE. Firefox still has some issues, especially wit DoD sites, but all in all, I stick with it. I will admit that FF is getting a little bloated any more.

Have to agree there! If you watch memory usage, and I do, just because I'm a born control freak, it uses boatloads of memory and seems to get worse with every update. I've gone to opening both IE and FF. Seems to speed things up when running flash programs. Video is much better if you keep one browser dedicated to Flash. (Farmville 2, or any online game that their server keeps your game play saves) Course I just blew 3 grand on a new hot rod gamer box, so I could be wrong.
I'm the guy your mother warned you about!
 

Offline Dori

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7964
  • Reputation: +406/-39
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #54 on: August 25, 2014, 01:24:16 PM »
Has something changed?

I no longer can get the "all unread topics" button.  It was there earlier?

Actually, there were two...one at the very top where my avatar used to show (it's gone now too) and one down a little lower where the Home, Messages, etc are.

??????

I can no longer find the new unread posts
without going back to Home, then click on each forum to find recent posts.
“How fortunate for governments that the people     they administer don't think”  Adolph Hitler

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #55 on: August 25, 2014, 03:15:15 PM »
Has something changed?

I no longer can get the "all unread topics" button.  It was there earlier?

Actually, there were two...one at the very top where my avatar used to show (it's gone now too) and one down a little lower where the Home, Messages, etc are.

That's odd; I checked mine too.  I use Internet Explorer.

For those who don't know, the browser determines what's shown, so it's important to mention which one one's using.

I used to have "all unread posts" at both top and the bottom, just as Dori described.

Now I have it only at the top, and not at the bottom too.


Offline Dori

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7964
  • Reputation: +406/-39
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #56 on: August 25, 2014, 09:14:32 PM »
That's odd; I checked mine too.  I use Internet Explorer.

For those who don't know, the browser determines what's shown, so it's important to mention which one one's using.

I used to have "all unread posts" at both top and the bottom, just as Dori described.

Now I have it only at the top, and not at the bottom too.

I use IE too.  Always have.  This is very frustrating, as there seems to be no convenient way to access "recent posts" or "unread posts" without going to each individual forum. 

How could it just disappear?  I haven't changed anything, or even logged out or rebooted my computer.

“How fortunate for governments that the people     they administer don't think”  Adolph Hitler

Offline Chris_

  • Little Lebowski Urban Achiever
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 46845
  • Reputation: +2028/-266
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #57 on: August 25, 2014, 09:17:04 PM »
Try using another forum Theme.  Some of the installed themes are hit or miss when it comes to layout (SMF is a volunteer effort and isn't always perfect).
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 09:23:47 PM by Chris_ »
If you want to worship an orange pile of garbage with a reckless disregard for everything, get on down to Arbys & try our loaded curly fries.

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #58 on: August 25, 2014, 09:39:59 PM »
Okay, now the bottom "new posts" link is showing too.

It must just be one of those quirks that one eliminates by logging out and then back in during the day.

Offline Dori

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7964
  • Reputation: +406/-39
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #59 on: August 25, 2014, 11:48:37 PM »
Try using another forum Theme.  Some of the installed themes are hit or miss when it comes to layout (SMF is a volunteer effort and isn't always perfect).

Tried logging out, rebooting and changing from IE to Firefox.

Now I can't find where to change the forum theme.  Have looked everywhere under profile options. 
“How fortunate for governments that the people     they administer don't think”  Adolph Hitler

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #60 on: August 26, 2014, 06:50:16 AM »
Tried logging out, rebooting and changing from IE to Firefox.

Now I can't find where to change the forum theme.  Have looked everywhere under profile options.

Under "modify profile," and then "look and layout":



one sees near the top, "current theme," and then "core theme," and then "[change]."

Click on "[change]."

Don't be embarrassed; it's not an easy thing to find anyway.

I hope this helps.

Offline Dori

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7964
  • Reputation: +406/-39
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #61 on: August 26, 2014, 09:43:16 AM »
Under "modify profile," and then "look and layout"

Thanks. I changed the theme and everything is back where it's supposed to be.

I was using the default one.  What's weird, is that I had been on the website for awhile and still had the page open.  It seemed to change in midstream. 

???
“How fortunate for governments that the people     they administer don't think”  Adolph Hitler

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #62 on: August 26, 2014, 09:56:48 AM »
???

miskie's still fine-tuning the site; this SMF software's more complicated--more features, &c.--than the one previously used had been, and so things can happen without one inititating them.  At any time.

But nothing disappears; if something's missing, holler, and we'll find it for you.

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #63 on: August 23, 2015, 06:57:28 PM »
I really dislike being a chronic whiner--it doesn't help the reputation--but ever since I installed Windows10, there's something here on conservativecave that doesn't work any more.

I'm talking about the series of buttons in the "post reply" screen, which one's supposed to punch if one wishes to {quote} or {b} or use a smiley.  They haven't worked for me since I put in Windows10.


Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #64 on: August 23, 2015, 08:33:07 PM »
I really dislike being a chronic whiner--it doesn't help the reputation--but ever since I installed Windows10, there's something here on conservativecave that doesn't work any more.

I'm talking about the series of buttons in the "post reply" screen, which one's supposed to punch if one wishes to {quote} or {b} or use a smiley.  They haven't worked for me since I put in Windows10.

Bumping this, because it seems lost to view.

Anyway, is it possible the SMF software here isn't compatible with Windows10, or vice-versa?

Offline Chris_

  • Little Lebowski Urban Achiever
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 46845
  • Reputation: +2028/-266
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #65 on: August 23, 2015, 08:38:04 PM »
Is there a Compatibility View option in the Tools menu?
If you want to worship an orange pile of garbage with a reckless disregard for everything, get on down to Arbys & try our loaded curly fries.

Offline thundley4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 38592
  • Reputation: +2015/-123
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #66 on: August 24, 2015, 08:07:26 AM »
I really dislike being a chronic whiner--it doesn't help the reputation--but ever since I installed Windows10, there's something here on conservativecave that doesn't work any more.

I'm talking about the series of buttons in the "post reply" screen, which one's supposed to punch if one wishes to {quote} or {b} or use a smiley.  They haven't worked for me since I put in Windows10.

Did you download Firefox ? What browser are you using?

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #67 on: August 24, 2015, 02:39:36 PM »
Did you download Firefox ? What browser are you using?

I'm really not fond of it.

Anyway, in response to Chris_, I haven't found any button that makes the view compatible, as it did on the old Windows.  But given that Microsoft issued Windows10 when it was only half done, before they worked out the bugs, I imagine in another couple of long updates or something, one will show up.  That's what's been happening with other features.

I dunno why they issued Windows10 when it was only half operational.  What bugs me about it is that I succumbed to their incessant constant entreaties, "UPDATE NOW!  UPDATE NOW!," because I got tired of the stupid reminders always popping up.

In response to thundley4, no, I haven't downloaded Firefox yet, so as to have a browser.  I'm really nervous about downloading stuff, although in this case I suspected I'd have to do it sooner or later.  But then now today, presto! out of thin air, there's a new option on Windows10 that wasn't there yesterday.  One can revert back to Internet Explorer.

I did, and the {quote} and other things on the "post reply" screen work.

In case anyone's curious, these new icons and thingamajigs, such as the "star," are nothing what they were on the old Windows. 

Offline thundley4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 38592
  • Reputation: +2015/-123
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #68 on: August 24, 2015, 03:05:59 PM »
The very first thing I do with every new computer or after reinstalling/upgrading Windows is to download and install Google Chrome.

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #69 on: August 24, 2015, 03:16:04 PM »
The very first thing I do with every new computer or after reinstalling/upgrading Windows is to download and install Google Chrome.

I gave the wrong impression.

"I'm not really fond of it" refers to Windows10, not Firefox.

<<<had no problems with Firefox two computers ago; didn't use it on the last one because no need to.

I'll wait for another couple of Windows10 updates to see if this problem gets corrected, and if not, I'll download Firefox.  In the meantime, I'll just use the "open with Internet Explorer" option on Windows10, even though it's a bitch.

Online franksolich

  • Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 55698
  • Reputation: +2027/-169
  • ^^^indefatigable
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #70 on: December 30, 2015, 06:12:30 AM »
Uh.....

The site isn't letting me post.


Offline Ralph Wiggum

  • It's unpossible that I'm a
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12899
  • Reputation: +650/-45
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #71 on: April 21, 2017, 07:59:59 PM »
Bumping an old thread.  But topical.

Tapatalk has not allowed me to access the site for most of this week.  Since I almost always use the app, makes it a challenge.  CU works fine.

Anyone else having a similar problem?
Voted hottest "chick" at CU - My hotness transcends gender


Offline Drafe Hoblin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Reputation: +13/-4
  • ... up 'n down the Strip
Re: Problems Posting or Using Conservative Cave?
« Reply #72 on: May 04, 2017, 10:10:14 AM »
Anyone else having a similar problem?

Not really similar...

I keep pressing the '$-key', but no 3D hand digitally particle-morphs through the screen and gives me free money.