Author Topic: A question about Radio Weirdness.  (Read 5300 times)

Offline miskie

• Mailman for the VRWC
  • Administrator
  • Make America Great Again. Deport some DUmmies.
A question about Radio Weirdness.
« on: May 15, 2010, 06:53:54 PM »
As many of you know, I deliver mail for a living, and while Im doing so, I listen to the radio quite a bit, usually 969 Boston Talks - where I get my right wing hate programming from..

Anyway..

There is a stretch of road that contains pretty much nothing but a cattle farm on one side, and a slaughterhouse on the other. Along this stretch I frequently lose the Boston Station ( about 60 miles north of me) and pick up one of three others..  

96.9 - Progressive Radio For Long Island
96.9 - The Eagle, Jacksonville Fl.
96.9 - Key-Z fm, Florida Keys.

I can see crosstalk from Long Island - but Florida ? - I live in Massachusetts. This is an FM station - not AM or SW. and I'm using a factory radio installed in a 2001 Pontiac Montana. Not an HD Radio, Satellite radio or anything special. Anyway, I was wondering what on earth could cause such a distortion of a broadcast area, to a point that is maybe only a few hundred yards long.. no more than half a mile - where this is likely to occur.

-edit: spelling
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 06:58:00 PM by miskie »

Offline The Village Idiot

• Banned
  • Probationary (Probie)
Re: A question about Radio Weirdness.
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 07:01:27 PM »
Now that is weird.

It couldn't be someone with a micro transmitter messing around with you could it?

lol

Offline miskie

• Mailman for the VRWC
  • Administrator
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 07:22:44 PM »