Author Topic: lilliputian tom thumb primitive rocks  (Read 2316 times)

Offline franksolich

• Scourge of the Primitives
  • Global Moderator
lilliputian tom thumb primitive rocks
« on: February 01, 2008, 09:24:39 AM »
http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x2802390

Oh my. 

The lilliputian tom thumb primitive reads some history.

I had to clean up his formatting, though.

ThomWV  (1000+ posts)      Fri Feb-01-08 09:25 AM
Original message

I Have Been Rocked To My Core By An Obscure Reading

I am a resident, not a native, of West Virginia. Though not born here I have grown a keen interest in the state's history none the less. Last night I ran across excerpts from the diary of a young woman who worked as a missionary during the great depression in a community not far from here. This is the Great Depression.

http://www.wvculture.org/history/journal_wvh/wvh53-5.ht...

Excerpt:

"Jan 30, 1932.

Dear Folks.

Today I have been visiting in homes to get the names of pre-school children who need milk. It looks like there will be 50 or 60 in Pursglove. The Quaker Relief Service is furnishing milk for them also.

Something else of unusual interest and pathos - happened this week. The Bates family has been receiving help from the County for some months, and the people in the neighborhood have taken pity on the 6 children who are hungry half the time. Most of the people say Mr. Bates is lazy and good for nothing, but Mr. Bates says he has a rupture and needs medical attention. We have been feeding the school children (3) noon lunches. Mr. Joe Stewart has asked Mr. Bates to get out of the Co. house because of his not working in the Pursglove mines, but he has never made any attempt to move.