Author Topic: Garlic Bread--Need help  (Read 1997 times)

Offline jendf

Garlic Bread--Need help
« on: November 22, 2008, 11:04:50 AM »
Don't laugh at me. I know it's simple and easy to do. I usually just buy a frozen loaf of Pepperidge Farm garlic bread and throw it on a cookie sheet and bake.

This time, however, I have a loaf of sourdough bread that I'm going to use for my garlic bread. I've never done this before though. I found a recipe online that suggests mixing a little butter, garlic, and parsley together in a bowl and spreading it on each slice. Then baking it at 350 in aluminum foil for about 15 minutes. This sounds easy.

Do you guys do anything different?

Offline Thor

• General Ne'er Do Well, Troublemaker & All Around Meanie!!
  • In Memoriam
  • Native Texan & US Navy (ret)
Re: Garlic Bread--Need help
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2008, 11:11:34 AM »
I might sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on it, too before going into the oven.
"The state must declare the child to be the most precious treasure of the people. As long as the government is perceived as working for the benefit of the children, the people will happily endure almost any curtailment of liberty and almost any deprivation."- IBID

I AM your General Ne'er Do Well, Troublemaker & All Around Meanie!!

"Congress has not unlimited powers to provide for the general welfare, but only those specifically enumerated."-Thomas Jefferson

Offline debk

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 11:22:59 AM »
Jen....I either slice the whole thing open like a book or I do individual slices which I prefer.

I mix melted butter, garlic powder and oregano, basil, or parsley(it depends on what I'm serving it with)....brush each piece to the edges....sprinkle Parmesean on it.

If I do the whole loaf I wrap it in foil. Individual slices on a cookie sheet and I bake them at 350 until just barely brown.

In the foil, I bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.