Author Topic: Rockhead tells you about his cell phone  (Read 1327 times)

Offline AzJames73

• Deplorable
Rockhead tells you about his cell phone
« on: September 13, 2017, 09:39:52 AM »
MineralMan (98,383 posts)               https://www.democraticunderground.com/10029588422

Not Everyone Who Prefers Flip Phones is a Luddite
I have one. I use it to make and receive phone calls when I'm not at my desk. I'm an old fart with 72 years under my belt. But, I'm an early adopter when it comes to technology. I took my first computer programming class in 1963, when you had to put your programs on IBM punch cards. Before I retired, I was a Contributing Editor at PC World magazine and reviewed the latest hardware and software for a living. My tech stuff, other than my cell phone, is all current technology, and I use it extensively every day. Cell phones are just not a thing of mine. I use a tablet when I want to access apps that do stuff when away from my desk. The cell phone is just a phone. That is all I need it to be.

I bought my first cell phone, a Motorola bag phone, in the 80s, then replaced it with one of those Nokia brick phones. That gave way to a Motorola flip phone, as soon as they were on the market. For me, cell phones were just phones that didn't have wires connecting them to the POTS network. Since then, my cell phone has always been a small flip phone that I can slip into my shirt pocket without any part of it sticking out. I love my current Nokia flip phone. Its battery lets it stay on, waiting for calls for as long as 5 days. It works great for how I use it.

Sure, sometimes people chuckle when they see this old man haul his little tiny phone out of a shirt pocket. I don't care. It works for me. It's ideal for what it is, and I have other devices for doing other things.